NFL Quarter-Pole: Who’s The MVP So Far?

Philip Rivers

3. J.J. Watt

What, a defensive player can’t be the league MVP? Come on!

Watt has been a force for the upstart Texans, totaling nine tackles, two sacks, a pick-six, a fumble return, and an offensive touchdown reception through four games. Watt is the heart and soul of Houston’s stout front seven, and he’s doing all this work without the help of first-round pick Jadeveon Clowney playing on the opposite side.

A defensive player hasn’t won the MVP trophy since 1986 when Lawrence Taylor did so by notching a league-best 20.5 sacks. Watt will remain a darkhorse for the award; the odds suggest as much. But he’s making a case to be in the discussion.

author avatar
Sam Spiegelman
Sam Spiegelman is a native New Yorker covering sports in New Orleans. He likes Game of Thrones way too much. Tweet him @samspiegs.